The Concert (Maryann)

There was a time, when deserts rose, beyond the Organ’s those mountains those, and when I came there, to watch Brad sing, you were the surprise there, you were the spring. An early summer, in 78, when all of seventeen thought it was king. Oh my, sweet Maryann, that night it brings, I to my betters, when Boston sing’s, when Boston sings.

Johnny will you take us, Joe and I, take us southward down I-25? There in your blue pickup, there as stars go by, I will meet Maryann as Boston spans the sky. If I see those fields of chilies, there in Hatch in spring, they go by in April, like her eyes waiting for what fall brings. Overture of lightning young boys from a small town north, headed to the southern desert.  Adventure upon a university shore. Indeed it is a first concert, thereby the first rites of spring. Sammy Hagar will open, by toke or by Cabo that red rocker will scream. What it is in an answer there on a campus nighttime lawn, a blue jeaned raven, can you keep your pants still on. Oh it seems to me, time it still brings, memories of Maryann, dropping her eyes in spring. While Joe is getting hickeys, and Johnny’s eating wings, my back’s against Alumni, telling a dreamer, dreams.

There was a time, when deserts rose, beyond the Organ’s those mountains those, and when I came there, to watch Brad sing, you were the surprise there, you were the spring. An early summer, in 78, when all of seventeen thought it was king. Oh my, sweet Maryann, that night it brings, I to my betters, when Boston sing’s, when Boston sings.

Four rows from the stage, “Jane” rears her smoky head, towers of amplifiers scream. Sammy moves in red, whiskey bottle, the entire stage grooves. Up into our chairs, blue jean hips, Maryann turning ruby red lips. What a night in spring, Overton window, I might should take this chance it seems. The song it starts to play, lights in concert, stray, and Maryann kisses me, Boston in a medley, “More than a Feeling”, my Maryann slips away, but in memory she stays, in memory she stays.

There was a time, when deserts rose, beyond the Organ’s those mountains those, and when I came there, to watch Brad sing, you were the surprise there, you were the spring. An early summer, in 78, when all of seventeen thought it was king. Oh my, sweet Maryann, that night it brings, I to my betters, when Boston sing’s, when Boston sings.

My first rock concert, I traveled with Johnnie little and Joe Kelting to Las Cruces, New Mexico in April of 1978. At the Pan Am Center at NMSU, we saw Sammy Hagar, and Boston. I had met Maryann the night before on campus. She twenty-one, me seventeen, starry-eyed and shy, afraid to look her in the eye. She talked to me, sharing her dreams, and the night of the concert when Boston sang “More Than a Feeling”, she turned toward me and kissed me.6.30.2015 – דָּנִיֵּאל

14 thoughts on “The Concert (Maryann)

  1. Happy memories, Daniel. And songs that return us to exact moments. Scents do that for me too. Close eyes, breathe, listen, transported. Now singing More Than A Feeling in my head. And trying to remember if I’ve ever kissed someone younger than me! 😉

    • Funny you should mention the scent thing, I’m like that too, I believe Maryann was a strawberry Suave user back in the day. 😉 As to your kissing someone younger than yourself, I would suspect many a bright eyed lad gave it the ole college try. 😉

      • I never asked their age though! Strawberry suave sounds delish. 😉 I seem to rememcer flavoured lip gloss as a thing – maybe that was them making a first appearane. The permutations must be endless but I can’t remember any. Chocolate souffle? Damson delight? I could go on but maybe not, eh? I’m licking my lips at the chocolate one!

  2. I came back to read again 🙂 This reminded me of a similar event, “Heatwave” in Mosport, ON. It was all New Wave music, B-52’s, Teenage Head and such. I went with a guy who was the light of my life and that added to the magic. Oh! And I still have my 45rpm of Boston’s “More Than A Feelin'” and “Smokin” on th B side 🙂

    • I remember the B-52’s most fondly Karin, what a fun time that must of been, and you still have a 45 of “More Than A Feeling”, now that is neat. I’m happy to see vinyl around again, I might have to invest in a turn table. 😉

      • It is so worth it! I hope to have one again in the future. One of the best backhand compliments I ever received was “You have a good record collection… for a girl” 🙂

      • Now that’s funny, uh just a second, I think I used that one on Penny Nichols in the 8th grade. 😉 A rare find, she was. Here’s to gals like Karin and Penny! 🙂

    • Your making me blush, you know that don’t you. ;). Maryann will make another appearance one of these days at a Fleetwood Mac concert in September of 1980. :). Thanks for your compliment Resa. 🙂

  3. Pingback: The Concert (A Cloudless Flight) | Daniel Swearingen

Leave a Reply

