Twenty-Three


Bare it now, bare all things, in the trouble that life brings, come on down, come on down, at twenty-three let spirit drown. Not in pain, or numbing fame, in glossy pictures from cultural stain. Turn around, turn around, reflections they are a game. Ghost they dance, on full display, in the mountains, in the night of the desolate desert where I knew not to play. Be it now, be a queen, for nothing ever love’s you like the word’s, the syllables and sounds that come from a king. Understand it at once, do not wait, for life is to short, and that which has no name, cannot contain, for you Kaitlyn it will not wait, at twenty-three without sound it cannot be explained. Love it now, that seed, I’m in you, better than faith, easier to say. For what swam forth found its way, in love oh how it came, and it became you, while feelings sang, biology made my love you.

Be the firebird, be the rain, make a choice, at twenty-three, choose an unreturnable way, I know right now that sounds insane. Be the warrior, that G_D loves to blame, for nothing at all but that, will last forever. Say hello, sweet hello, an echo in the value of accurate love forever. Raise the goddess, fly the change, human instance, born where those without soul, can never play. Wear it now, be it yourself, while the love of a burning G_D changes your shadow forever.

Past away, I’m past away, at fifty-six I’m aged forever. At twenty-three, your bound, with nothing seen and it does not matter. Drowning now encased in Daemons, now without notice a risen frailty, a man that G_D loves, your father is not so clever. It binds you now, without fear, everything has changed, and all that is me, is you, in endeavor, my familiar encased in love in you forever. When I am gone, I’m never gone, for my footstep is in your heart, and with it my love is you, forever. My love is you forever!

For my daughter Kaitlyn who turns Twenty-three upon this day, my seed, of my love for her, nothing will ever change. Love exists! – 08-12-2017 – Dad (דָּנִיֵּאל)

34 thoughts on “Twenty-Three

  1. Your last stanza is breathtaking, “Past away, I’m past away, at fifty-six I’m aged forever. At twenty-three, your bound, with nothing seen and it does not matter. Drowning now encased in Daemons, now without notice a risen frailty, a man that G_D loves, your father is not so clever. It binds you now, without fear, everything has changed, and all that is me, is you, in endeavor, my familiar encased in love in you forever. When I am gone, I’m never gone, for my footstep is in your heart, and with it my love is you, forever. My love is you forever!” Your words will be immortal for your daughter. So well done! ❤

  2. I believe Daniel, that the best gift a parent can ever give to a child at whatever age is contained in the words you have written here. A spirit of flame and fire, that will last her a lifetime. Best happy birthday wishes to her, and best wishes to you may you continue on, writing and fulfilling your purpose!

    • Hi Bill, I appreciate your thoughts and wishes very much. Your wisdom and comments always leave me grateful, to have such as yourself interested in following and reading my post. I agree with you, a spirit of flame and fire, is the way to go!

  3. The words of a lion to a cub, or cubess as the case may be. 😉 I was enriched by this my friend, father and daughter relationships of value are to be valued, and passed on!

  4. As always Daniel, you have penned a wonderful memory, that is a blessing upon your daughters life. I hope her day is filled with that blessing you have bestowed. This is a beautiful piece. ❤

  5. Remarkable words, and such a wonderful gift to your daughter on her twenty-third birthday. “Be the firebird, be the rain, make a choice, at twenty-three, choose an unreturnable way, ” This was my favorite line.

  6. Daniel my brother, I was reminded of a wonderful Sammy Davis Jr. quote as I read your wonderful words written to your daughter. “A man is not complete until he has seen the baby he has made”. Happy Birthday to your daughter, and blessings to you my friend.

  7. I know about love. It is what has made me rich, for I have much, get much and give much.
    How wonderful for you that your daughter, Kaitlyn turned 23. I’m sure your heart swells 23 times its size and that 23 billion stars shine in both your honors.
    Happy Birthday, Kaitlyn!

Leave a Reply

