By the Hours


Authors Note: I have only asked this before, once. If you start the unbelievable music below by Philip Glass, before you read, that which is sewn together by mystery and the sirens gasp. If that you start before you read “by the hours” then you too, will know, you will know!

“Every extraordinary occurrence unsettles the heads of hundreds of thousands of men for a few moments or hours or days.” – Mark Twain

By the hours when the flesh dies to knowledge, hands so carefully placed to feel, transferring faith on cold stones of remembering only good thoughts, while some are still sealed. In the dark here a boy on stone so cold, I see them move. Oh, they transfuse. In the dark, keepers are sleeping, staying quietly, air up above, angels of “El” meet phantoms of love. By the hours, when equity meets love, thought is, thinking thought is! And it meets conditions, hallelujah, alleluia, and all is thought, by the hours, as Samael moves in notes, by stanzas look around, behind you with such a spirit, does that feeling move, is it without a sound. Oh, you will see even while the day comes, the next day, with tides, decreed by G_D she moves. And the times by numbers, for you who can see, beyond me, the picture is all beyond me, for I am everything, I am nothing, by the hours, oh spirit that dwells so ingrained in all that is you, that which is strange, not by man, your eternal light unto me.

By the hours, great seconds, by the clocks man made, under nourished man, oh knowledge, you cannot fathom, where great giants do lay. A quiet space, beyond the sun’s rays, when air is suspended, upon the grave. Oh, perpetual feeling, all that, that is against nothing, the final escape. Into thy places, the dare that goes alone, and I without known beauty, into your secrets there my so long forsaken grave, that great kingdom, next to your seraphim, by the hours in their mystery I find my home. Such is this place, I have never known. A wonder still I must know.

By the hours in language, unspoken, but yet still alone, where phantoms, bestow wisdom, they give unto others, now unto me it’s finally shown. And this in life is mystery, as in death it is by angels bemoaned, that earth in her time is a beauty, as in your breath, all wonder bestowed, and by the hours there are favors, that each second this gift is grown. For G_D does not judge that which is compassion, that given, that by the hours which you do own! In life do not let it go, for in death, by the hours, you will not ever go! You will not ever go! – 07.23.2017 – דָּנִיֵּאל

46 thoughts on “By the Hours

  1. ❤ every word Daniel, my favorite line, “For G_D does not judge that which is compassion, that given, that by the hours which you do own! In life do not let it go, for in death, by the hours, you will not ever go! You will not ever go!” I won’t forget that soon.

    • Hi Tatiana, For me compassion and gratitude go hand in hand, compassion to be received and carried on and gratitude to be returned and blessed upon which compassion was received. thank you for your comment.

  2. The best work so far Daniel, and all of it is beyond great. For some reason the following line tags me, “By the hours when the flesh dies to knowledge, hands so carefully placed to feel, transferring faith on cold stones of remembering only good thoughts, while some are still sealed.” 🙂

  3. I hope all is going well Daniel, I haven’t seen you on for a while. Your prose here is another thinker for me, making me appreciate not only the current hours but each hopefully to come.

  4. Daniel, I found this to be one of your works that touches me in the most sentimental way. So much stress for me over the past year, and it has become easy to lose sight of what is important as I travel this journey. Your words brought it home to me again and again, that breath is a gift, and needs to be used wisely, and joyfully. Thank you. B-

  5. So many great lines in “By the Hours”, but if I have to choose, the following just was genius, “And the times by numbers, for you who can see, beyond me, the picture is all beyond me, for I am everything, I am nothing, by the hours, oh spirit that dwells so ingrained in all that is you, that which is strange, not by man, your eternal light unto me.” ❤

  6. I’m hoping this finds you doing well my young friend, I haven’t seen any reply’s for a while now, but was very satisfied to see this latest endeavor of yours. “By the Hours” speaks to the very essence of what many a spiritual scholar has tried to relay to the masses over the many centuries this planet has been spinning round. Life is short live it to its fullness and enjoy the compassion that the good lord’s mercy has bestowed upon us all. Well done Daniel!

    • Hi brother, I am here, alive and well, I just have a new job well maybe a month old,now, that is taking up much of my time commuting, and managing. 😉 As always I appreciate your wisdom and wonderful comments Bill. Your words of wisdom above are appreciated. Daniel

      • Daniel, my young friend, certainly sounds like your busy these days. Never fear, this old man is patient and will wait on anticipating each and every new word that you continue to write. Best of luck in your new employment.

  7. Hi Daniel, I too join other readers in hoping all is well, as I haven’t seen any replies lately. This post was amazing, the content written in that beautiful surreal breath taking way that you do so well. Thank you as always for a wonderful read.

    • Hi Lynette, thank you for missing me, I am doing well just having to get used to a new job, and get priorities in line. 😉 Thank you as always for reading and adding your wonderful voice to this dialogue.

  8. My writing brother, this is a masterpiece, as most are. The words flow into my spirit, and I will join you and all others who wish, in living by the hour in the wonderful compassion of our GD! Wishing you a great week ahead. Shavua tov, Den

  9. Sweetly sobering, not sad, the melancholy grows as I read, the music my companion in compassion.
    I read this twice, both times to the music. The first time the music was loud. The second time, I set it softer. Both experiences were different, and rewarding.
    The image you created is perfect for this piece. Is the boy from a picture of you when you were young?

Leave a Reply

