The Fisher King (Gratitude)


Be still, so still, the spirit says to me, the Fisher King need not speak, but oh how you will weep, in lessons learned you will weep.

The Fisher King, the last in line, set upon the pale. A gloom it comes, a devils wound, this way it fly’s as well. the angels how they failed. Fish on, fish on, your heart may it break, let nothing conceal your pain. Instead be thankful for this tender day. For one who test you, your mettle known, has given you the field to play. Then play it well. Play it well.

The Fisher King, he’s covered in ashes, buried in places, that no dream can ever come to be believed. This distance it’s covered not in words, a broken place. Spirit and ghost, it be. Here beneath a crooked tree. And all this brings us to the place, a weeping shadowed well. Where a broken pride, turns to the torn sepia sky, that my friend which holds your key in spite. And it screams till the daemons cannot keep their peace, yells to the yellow sun. Falling like Gabriel fell, crying to the holy mystery. My G_D, my G_D, how dust thou find me. In a place where no one sees. The flames licking my destiny, destroying this lame effigy. My Adonai, the malice once planned, in my secret places, dusted clean, burning with the things I need. Burning with the things I need.

The Fisher King is lost in adventure, a bend in a river, the moving waters, the waters so deep. One moment a question, the next a frustration, all this for a journey, that isn’t complete. This cup for the dying, not for the living, could be its better, the life we don’t reap. And not in a forest glen, or a hallowed Arthurian chapel then, with crosses and swords or bows of kind. But deep in the bedroom of my mind, I see what’s hard to believe, the Fisher King is me, such a simplicity. And then in gratitude I turn, to climb the lost steps back through the wound, to fly into the sky, moving in magic all boundaries removed. Motionless, beautiful, the sun in my eyes, my lips held together, I kiss the face of my sweet Adonai. In gratitude.

In gratitude! – 07.15.2017 – דָּנִיֵּאל

57 thoughts on “The Fisher King (Gratitude)

  1. Dear Daniel, at last I am first again, winning out over your rock star and designer fans. 😉 This was beautiful and so full of soul. I cherished each word! ❤

    • Hi Ruby, So sorry for going away, a new job, with lots of commute time has kept me from being on my blog. As always I appreciate your kind words, and I do believe you shine as bright as any rock star. 😉

      • Daniel, congratulations on your new job, I have had to suffer through a commute myself in the past and I do feel for you. Thank you for telling me. It’s very selfish of me I know, but I am hoping once you get back into the swing of things, you will continue to write. I have missed seeing your post and replies these past few weeks. ❤

  2. Your vision within your own life spills across the words of “The Fisher King”. I have read it now over and over, each time I find more to be grateful for in my own life. What a gift you have received.

    • Thank you friend Wang, you sir lift me up, and perhaps make my ego stronger than it should be. 😉 I do appreciate it. I do apologize for taking so long to get back with you in here, new job has me parting from my blog more than I would like.

      • It was good to hear from you Daniel, all the best on your new venture, I will still be around, so write when you can, I enjoy your work very much.

  3. The well was overflowing with this work. The following gave me chills. “And then in gratitude I turn, to climb the lost steps back through the wound, to fly into the sky, moving in magic all boundaries removed. Motionless, beautiful, the sun in my eyes, my lips held together, I kiss the face of my sweet Adonai. In gratitude.”

  4. Daniel, you have truly touched my heart, this morning. Your twist on the Arthurian legend, has grabbed me and taken me to your journey, and the lesson of gratitude earned in fire. Wow this was powerful!

    • Hi Lynette, first I apologize for being so tardy in replying to your wonderful comment. I like that you pointed out gratitude, there is no greater gift given to the human race, IMHO. 🙂 I truly love the Arthurian Legends, Merlin and the whole circle of knights. 😉

  5. Mr. Swearingen, how I have missed you this week, but here you are on my Saturday, massaging my mind with great works. The poem above is a beauty to behold. I salute you once again as I have done often.

  6. Daniel this is extraordinary, your written words flow as if written by a secret hand inside your soul. The ending is one of the most powerful conclusions I have ever read. This I will come back to again and again, for it holds so much.

    • Hi Diana, I love that phrase “hand inside your soul”, I hope you will allow me to borrow it sometime. Thank you for your wonderful comment, and I do apologize for being so late with my reply.

    • Shalom, Ms. Heather, thank you for your comment, and as always for following and reading faithfully. I am sorry for such a late reply, I am afraid finally in my ancient age working in the real world has caught up with me, and the blog is taking second place. Hopefully I get better at it once I get used to it. 😉

  7. I had just finished reading a blog piece on the most underrated movies of the 1990’s, one being “The Fisher King” when your post popped up on my reader. It was meant to be. I adore each word above, and as others have said, the ending is glorious.

    • Hi Caroline, I read that piece too, thought it was well written. Thank you for your comment, I am so happy you liked this. I apologize for my tardy reply, hope your week is going well. 🙂

  8. Daniel, I enjoyed this very much, it should be required reading for any man who is on a journey, and there is something for the ladies too. Thank you for the enjoyment and the spiritual uplift I received from reading “The Fisher King”.

    • Thank you Darrin. Your words are wonderful to read, and I do appreciate them. When someone tells me they are uplifted by my work, I am humbled. Thank you again. Please accept my apologies for my late reply.

    • My brother, thank you as always for your wonderful comments. I do appreciate your being a part of my blog presence, and I apologize for my late reply, work has kept me away from what I love to do as a hobby. 😦 Have a great week, Ryan.

      • Daniel my brother, reminds me of an old Elton John song which I love. Your presence has been missed but understandable, as work is a terrible injustice placed upon the majority of us, if you’re not a politician or a king I suppose. Your hobby as you put it has provided me with many an hour of enjoyment and thought as I participate in my own labor, and for that I thank you. I will continue to look forward to your craft, when you are able to practice it. Blessings from WV.

  9. This journey, completed, by you, Daniel, has found solution, and reached a blissful conclusion. I see a Fisher Queen in me, burning with needs. Perhaps some of these words will aid me through.
    ….and I thought it was just a movie…..
    Beautiful song, thank you! ⭐ ❤ ⭐

    • Hi Toni, Thank you. I do love Joshua Kadison, I find his music so calming, if you’re not familiar with him, I would recommend looking him up, good stuff. Thank you for your kind words on my writing. I have been rather lax on returning replies on my blog lately, but I do appreciate you taking the time to comment.

  10. Dearest Daniel, this is a remarkable and inspirational piece that you’ve written, beautiful as ever. Your words are woven in between a state of the all knowing and the unknowing, hoping to be known. I’ve often wondered if the chalice is indeed guarded by the heart, rather than the sword. ~ Mia

    • Hi Mia, I am so sorry at my disappearing act on replying. This new job is kicking my rear, I am just getting old. 😉 I think you’re onto something on the chalice and the heart, perhaps the heart is a sword in the spirit world. I do hope your week is going well, and I look forward to renewing our back and forth. Daniel

      • Hi Daniel, thank you, I hope your week is going well too. Please let me know when your work allows you some free time, it would be my pleasure to renew our back and forth. ~ Mia

Leave a Reply

