West of Denver


Underneath, ground, choking, I’m not sure what happens if I udder a sound. For surely it is, for surely, it could be, that any key that touches my ear, says you are down, oh yeah, it says you’re down! I’m fifty-six years, of sightseeing, things a human shouldn’t see, all the strangers in heaven say they are relying on me. I’m here on Kiowa Peak, west of Denver, you SOB’s can come on up for me, for I’m homecoming, not less a stranger in an alien land. I’m a lost father taking a different stand, but still I’m homecoming.

And I looked down upon the heavens, looked down upon the trees, a father lost in something, so heavy. Here I am above timberline, west of Denver and only G_D can help me see.

Daddy was autistic, a wonderful sort of man, I see things too, keys in music, I’m better than Billy Joel, a phantasmal piano man. I’m further west of Eden, beyond Steinbeck’s, “Red Pony” brand, a prophet in America, like my daddy said on a “Father’s Day” I will rise, and I will head for homecoming, west of Denver, I’ll be the best man, my kids ever met, up here were nothing that’s evil, can get to me.  Open your arms, Orion, I’m homecoming.

Up here above America, the universe in June is still found crisp. The place I have found within my soul, is neither dead, but it’s alive with a kiss, and it says this is the place you must find your life, that visitor, you have hated your entire damn life. That place in fire, golden flames where the Colorado sky meets the devils eye, on high, west of Denver, homecoming. I see the ridge now, ruby red, a sun setting, on the edge of a lineage gift.

And I looked down upon the heavens, looked down upon the trees, a father lost in something, so heavy. Here I am above timberline, west of Denver and only G_D can help me see.

Underneath, ground, choking, I’m not sure what happens if I udder a sound. But you know, as a father, as once I was a son, here west of Denver, I’m homecoming! – 06.18.2017 – דָּנִיֵּאל


38 thoughts on “West of Denver

  1. “The place I have found within my soul, is neither dead, but it’s alive with a kiss” I have printed this, and plan to wear it in a locket on my wrist. Beautiful writing Daniel!

  2. Daniel this is a delightful read, full of promise and warm comfortable prose. My favorite line, “I’ll be the best man, my kids ever met, up here were nothing that’s evil, can get, open your arms, Orion, I’m homecoming.”

  3. My young friend, I have been off line for a while, and am just now catching up with your wonderful writing. I identified with so much in this piece as a father, grandfather and now a great grandfather. Thank you.

  4. Hi Daniel, “West of Denver” is a wonderfully original tribute to being a father, finding your life, and the homecoming. Your images capture the imagination, allowing the reader to travel above the timberline with you. The Steinbeck references are brilliant, and in many ways haunting. This piece is rich with secrets told and secrets kept, a beautiful presentation and I adore that you’ve included Josh Ritter’s, “Homecoming”. Thank you, it’s always a pleasure to enjoy your posts.

    I hope that you had a terrific Father’s Day, please enjoy the week. ~ Mia

    • Hi Mia, thank you for your comment and best wishes. Your words always mean much to me. I look forward to your comments, on each and every post. and think myself blessed to receive them. It was a wonderful fathers day. Have a great week! Daniel

Leave a Reply

