Thunderbolt & Lightfoot (1997)



“Hey. You stick with me kid. Your gonna live forever.” – Lightfoot

Thunderbolt says Lightfoot, lets on the range go, therefore unto heaven, in stars of Montana our ghost goes. And you can be like Eastwood priming, the preacher lessons told, I will look just like Mr. Bridges doing yoga on the road. We can star in pictures, with the high grass in our toes. Mr. Lightfoot, says Thunderbolt, we’re actors on the road. The evening is self-serving, the stars fall overhead, it could be new souls entering the universe, or the exit of the dead. The two they come together, sitting closely side by side, the front seat of a “73” Eldorado, with the “Big Skies” up ahead. Oh, my old friend, my dearest love says Thunderbolt, as he looks up above, for once in our lives, let two old queens enjoy the road ahead. I’ve dressed for you in long gone years, you painted your eyes to absorb hurt tears, and when we hit Montana, the burning will finally end.

Thunderbolt says Lightfoot, the shows we have staged within, the glowing purgatory, hallelujah, as the curtain would ascend. But now it seems a higher purpose, breaking harder on life’s final whim, the fire of something killing me, our last show must begin. My dear Mr. Lightfoot, Thunderbolt’s voice begins, we’ve just entered the gates of heaven, Montana, home, where your life began. Look beyond the script of the movie, your life a cycle spins. I know a fire burns in you, my love my dearest friend. The ghost of a thousand angels, is beyond that sunsets rim. Wait just a little longer till we reach “Wolf Creeks” bend. There’s a place in all dramatics, your life can come to end. And what I’ll do for your sweet memory, for all those folks that you have known. I’ll “Break it to them gently”, I’ll tell them that your home, I’ll tell them you’re the best lay this angel ever had.

Thunderbolt says Lightfoot, his smile a disappearing grin, if you would hand me a different cigar, like Mr. Bridges smoked in the end. Up above this mountain, this steep road, the sun is glowing but it’s midnight, on the watch in my head. The spell it is upon us, the final lines have been said, the fire of what kills cells inside me has left its ash instead. Oh, my old friend, my dearest love says Thunderbolt, as he looks up above, for once in our lives, let two old queens enjoy the road ahead. The silence is between them by moments, as the silence of the dead, as the silence of the dead.

For Angel & Bennie (Daniel 7:10) – 06.11.17 – דָּנִיֵּאל

36 thoughts on “Thunderbolt & Lightfoot (1997)

  1. Daniel, this is a wonderful tribute to four men (two actors, two characters) and a film that swirled with controversy. For those that missed the depth of the relationship between Thunderbolt and Lightfoot, you’ve done an excellent and touching characterization exploring the under lying theme between the two men with your most unique ability to tell a story, including your use of powerful emotions and gorgeous visuals that pull the reader in. One of my favorite lines, “The evening is self-serving, the stars fall overhead, it could be new souls entering the universe, or the exit of the dead.” AND you final line is a tearjerker, “The silence is between them by moments, as the silence of the dead, as the silence of the dead.” A beautiful piece of writing, stunning as ever. Please have a magical and creative week. ~ Mia

    • Hi Mia, You might think me uniformed, but I had no idea, the film, had that type of controversy, attached to it. Thanks to your wonderful comment, I went back and researched further on the film from the time period, and was amazed. I know I’m time stamping myself, but I was thirteen years old when the film arrived in theatres, in our desolate part of New Mexico. Outside of the wonderful adventures any young lad of the time period, saw in it, I also saw something different in it. unlatched and lurking beneath the wonderful smiles of Eastwood and Bridges. It was a temptation, a spark, a parse of energy that speaks to immortality. Thank you again for your comment. Have a great week. Shalom, Daniel

  2. Daniel, there are so many great lines in this piece, but the following is my favorite, “But now it seems a higher purpose, breaking harder on life’s final whim, the fire of something killing me, our last show must begin.” The scourge of AIDS never has been so well written.

Leave a Reply

