Gray


I was looking until thrones were set up, and the Ancient of Days sat; His raiment was as white as snow, and the hair of His head was like clean wool – Daniel 7:9

Amazing are the things of purpose, I’ve been told, I’m looking more like him as I grow old, and gray, and that’s okay.

They arrive at the end of the day, in whispers they say, all they can do is wait, for my age to arrive, for the opening of my eyes. For me to reach that place. Where all is gray. The world moves through the phases of the moon, while one sun goes up, I think a different one greets the evening womb. And birth takes place inside my head, the visions just like my namesake said, turning me back, making my thoughts make room, for you. All my life, I’ve waited for this day, a strange foundation, humble still, is that what you say, stay so humble but wait for the day, you become gray.

And yes, there are many strange visions, broken, and blue, in life this indecision, like an addict needing more sight. Was it “Aerosmith” that sang, “When the moment arrives that you know you’ll be alright”, I think I’m there, with all the places I could go, reaching for G_D it seems like I’m solo, but in a twinkling, without a sound, prophetic terms come out unbound, and all around the world seems to age. I’m not certain but I think, that I’m okay, for just like the “Ancient of Days”, I’m gray, and that’s okay.

Woe unto bitterness, an earthly yoke, I won’t go back to places from where my youth awoke. All the changes in these years of men, maybe I’m better when I don’t think of them. For letters and numbers bring me to a spell, in a better grace, practiced crafts of spirit, done in Adonai’s own grace. And yes, the sunset comes, bringing my name to the place it belongs. Making my delusions real, an amazing song, blessing you with all my gray.

Amazing are the things of purpose, I’ve been told, I’m looking more like him as I grow old, and gray, and that’s okay. – 02.13.2017 – דָּנִיֵּאל

51 thoughts on “Gray

  1. i like this 🙂
    i enjoy the gray sprinkled with white and silver
    we earn our gray as we earn the honor of sight and listening
    and i too think i am okay where i am in gray
    Thank you David….a perfectly weaved post today
    Take Care…You Matter…
    mary

  2. I really liked this Daniel. Your journey forward “broken and blue”, but triumphant in gray. Like your namesake 😉 you have painted a vision of not only your own but a wonderful future for all of us who seek it.

  3. Several lines spoke to me throughout this piece Daniel, but perhaps none more than the following. “For letters and numbers bring me to a spell, in a better grace, practiced crafts of spirit, done in Adonai’s own grace.” Thank you.

  4. I find myself again reading your writing in wonder Daniel, as how it speaks to me. This was filled with greatness, written with humility. Thank you.

  5. You know longer shock me with the value of your writing Daniel. I have come to expect each piece to be a memento to the further interior building of my own life. Gray was no exception. 😉

  6. Fabulous in it’s depth, saying so much, and yet saying it so simply. I couldn’t agree more with your wonderful words on gray.

  7. Wow, Steve Tyler sounds fab! His voice may be a bit gray, like his hair, I don’t care. TY for sharing this, and your wonderful prose. I’m grayish, too, but hit the dye bottle now and again. 😀

Leave a Reply

