One More Try (For Yog)


It could have started with a simple little question, a stare in a mirror to something over there, looking at reflections of a lifetime, a moving shadow asking why. The words in a tumble, it happens when we are weary, we stumble over answers, and try not to lie, we wonder if it’s worthwhile reaching for an angel giving our breath, “one more try”. I expect it happened on the morning early, after a night of supplication, oh loneliness, thy cost is high.

Teacher my teacher, it appears so cold, so empty outside, and would I be so small as to ask, that you ask me not to try. And if I ask for absolution, ask that pain not enter my heart, for not to know love is too strong a challenge for me to ever know or try. A scattering of applause, that turns into rivers, smiles and wanton stares, all the world a stage or a highway, somehow my inner rooms don’t care. For nothing is stronger than a life of illusion, voids and lowliness terrors, ever I come to try an end or resolution, still for me I’m still just scared.

Silence, such silence, the room so silent, and at last the careless whisper caused by the whisperer has gone to sleep. A different angel came, his eyes the color of many waters, his kiss not shy and when he finally spoke, he didn’t say goodbye. “Yog“, voices, so many voices, resonating across the weightless sky, could be shadows dancing, no doubt smiling, having released the hold, having found the peace. And the uptown boy has made one more try.

Know this now, there’s changes in the atoms, changes in the air that we breath. A voice is gone, it’s joining in the heavens, praying for time in release. For Yog has sailed a boat on hades waters, though that sea he went on, knew some bounds. Now that one more try has, netted him eternal, the question has been answered, a heart with many questions has found peace – 12.27.2016 –
דָּנִאֵל

51 thoughts on “One More Try (For Yog)

  1. Such fitting words Daniel. Your post gave me goosebumps. If you don’t mind, “And if I ask for absolution, ask that pain not enter my heart, for not to know love is too strong a challenge for me to ever know or try.” My favorite line, it was so full of power!

  2. In Many ways his life seemed so tragic, like Marilyn Monroe, such talent, but wanting solitude. I think you have captured his memory and passing so well. The joy in the release, of pain!

  3. While not a fan of George Michael’s style of music I could still appreciate his voice and talent. You have done a wonderful job here Daniel. A thoughtful writer as always.

  4. “Know this now, there’s changes in the atoms, changes in the air that we breath. A voice is gone, it’s joining in the heavens, praying for time in release. For Yog has sailed a boat on Hades waters, though that sea he went on, knew some bounds. Now that one more try has, netted him eternal, the question has been answered, a heart with many questions has found peace”. You said it all so very well for millions of us right there Daniel. Thank you. RIP George Michael!!!

  5. I usually don’t comment, but had to here. You have said something so well, in written word, that brings relief to so many of us who mourn this great talent. Thank you. Tabby ❤

  6. I saw George Michael in concert during the late eighties. It was a memorable time for me, and the person I was with. Your tribute has done a great justice to the man, and for that I thank you. RIP George Michael!

  7. Lovely, simply lovely tribute, Daniel.
    I don’t really know what to say, and that he is gone makes me feel a short shrift to wish you a Happy New Year, yet, I do! I want a wondrous year for you, me and all still here.

    • Thank you so much my friend. I haven’t heard that term short shrift for many a year now, and I suppose it reminds me, 😉 I am nearly done with “The Haunted Fort”, maybe another two weeks out. Are you still game to do an intro/review to my next Hardy Boy tale. if so, sneak me your email address to danielswearingen7@gmail.com and I will send it over with the corresponding storyboard video when it is finished. Thank you, and Happy happy new year.

Leave a Reply

