Angelica (Candelabrums)


I watched the candle burn, the wax it melted, and dropped without a sound, similar to the memories dyeing inside what used to be the Christian part of me. I lie in leaves of snow by a dead barren tree, the frozen Poudre trickles so lightly near me. It is another holiday, a bed of luminescent passing beyond my conscious so brief. The candle I have brought burns into the cold night seeking the phantom, the spirit of a common flame, so uncommonly. My eyes they close, by design to quicken the shadow of the flame the shape of unformed ghost my destiny internally. And I have come undone, Angelica, she descends the tongues of G_D, the candle burns my soul so incessantly. Far above me the dark sky, lights with candle flames a massive futuristic sea.

Above the ground a song is heard, in triple chords, in six held notes, it freezes like a rhyme in me. Elijah comes, Elijah goes, the cold dark night in the candle glow, still his mantle he will not fold, and warm me. And I think about these things, as the candle burns, what makes a gift, can it be traced, is it spirit, or is it love, are we light, or all the darkness that seems too much. And I have come undone, Angelica, hovers to my loins and breaks my soul, to let my true self through. For in those days she led my people, she led them on through. This holiday, while the candles burning she will guide me too.

I drive the canyon, thinking of lessons, curves and boulders, looming in shadows, the flame of my candles through. I left the candle out by the river, the wax melted to some residue. The old me, there by the river, the light extinguished, another year consumed. If memory bares, a replica of the candle, a truthful deliverance, will lead me through. For now, possessed, an essence inside me I have come undone. I have come undone.

I watched the candle burn, the wax it melted, and dropped without a sound, similar to the memories dyeing inside what used to be the Christian part of me. – 12.21.2-16 – דָּנִיֵּאל

46 thoughts on “Angelica (Candelabrums)

  1. Amazing writing, I love the way it flows, and the depth is wonderful! :”Above the ground a song is heard, in triple chords, in six held notes, it freezes like a rhyme in me.” I will remember this line forever, because it is now frozen in me. 😉

  2. Your words are written from an immortal space. Daniel your pen has served you well with this piece. One of my favorites of yours. Bill

      • Daniel it’s always a pleasure to read your written work. I find each work to always have a depth to it, that is centered around a great ethereal precense. This piece was no exception. Again I say thank you.

  3. Delicious, with rythme and energy. I especially loved the last paragragh. What a perfect ending, or beginning as the case may be. 😉

  4. Daniel, this is a beautifully magical and mystical account of the candle, the flame and a truthful deliverance. “Angelica (Candelabrums)” is such a moving piece of writing. The lines that are quite emotional for me, “I left the candle out by the river, the wax melted to some residue. The old me, there by the river, the light extinguished, another year consumed.” I have so much admiration for you Daniel, your ability to paint a canvas with words is exceptional.

    I hope you read my reply, I would be a delighted to find the place cards next to one and another on the table. Wishing you and yours well, please enjoy the holidays, Happy Hanukkah. ~ Mia

    • Hi Mia, Thank you, for your comment, I will hold it to myself, and treasure it. I did read your comment on the place cards. I cherish it. I hope this is not presumptious of me, I think we are very much different, as we are very much alike, different styles, but drawing to the same great story. I find it most interesting. I would think we would talk for such a long time, and still be only starting, wanting to know more, and that would be such a wonderful time, we would ask it not end. Wishing you the most wonderful holiday, Hanukkah or Christmas or both. Shalom, Daniel

      • Hi Daniel, you’re most welcome. Not presumptuous at all, thank you for such kind words. I would agree with you, it is rather fascinating. I don’t know if science can prove my theory, as to how and why this happens. 😉 Without a doubt the conversation would be wonderful, I’m smiling thinking about the stories we would be able to share. Thank you for the smile and the holiday wishes. Please take good care. ~ Mia

  5. I thought I would have to wait for the weekend, an early present awaited me in my e-post. This was a wonderful read Mr. Swearingen. Thank you very much.

      • I will look foward to it, Just wanted to get your thoughts on the Byle Poem. I as always am amazed by your work here, and would consider it an honor for you to review.

  6. Daniel I always tell you I love your work. This piece touched me like no other. There was a raw brillance to it, that was almost frightening, but thrilling at the same time. Be assured your candle is always burning brightly. ❤

  7. Daniel this is great prose. I read “I lie in leaves of snow by a dead barren tree, the frozen Poudre trickles so lightly near me.” and it was Hawthorne at his best, dark and romantic, full of a spiritual exocism. Well done!

  8. Candles have always meant a lot to me, since I watched one burning for my Baba’s mom. She told me it was for her mom. Now I burn candles for many, too many.
    Imagine my confusion when, this holiday season, I received a gift, a candle. Daniel, it wasn’t called a candle. The label said it was the “Art of Wax”.

    • Susan and I are really big into candles too Resa. “Art of Wax”, well I suppose so. 😉 I always wanted one of those huge castle like candles that would burn year round. Weird like that I suppose. thanks for a great comment as always. 🙂

Leave a Reply

