Scotch & Elves (Yuma)


The muse and I for once are not arguing, not divided.    

Dante and I are out near South Detroit Street in Yuma, this is last year before the Holidays, a few months before the end of August when he would die. It’s midnight, could be a dream, maybe real, what’s the difference, I’ll let you the reader decide. We are both drunker then catnip, higher than kites. Don’t judge me here fellow citizens, I was just trying to survive. We’re laying right by the railroad tracks, looking at the second star to the right, discussing, what was the meaning of the season and such. An important topic for a muse and his possessed.

“It’s special” I say, “for the mystery inside, the daemons in the firelight, under snow filled skies. The Nicholas in shadows, the one of which I’ll write. I know you have seen him my muse, while inside, painting the pictures from which I will scribe. There’s the eve before midnight, while we pagans dance, and our eyes reflect candles, and sugarplums in our heads.”

“There’s a train coming”, Dante bends forward looking around the silo toward the west. I can see the pale yellow single light stirring the cold darkness in the distance. “It’s a haunt coming”, Dante’s voice is low like a growl, as he turns and looks at me. I can see his teeth, shining. “Your turn”, I say! “What”, Dante looks down studying the cold gravel near the iron track. “YOUR TURN to talk about the season”, I say. The train is getting closer, the distant horn, sounding louder, the light from the single eye brighter. “Well” Dante says as he stands up and steps out onto the tracks, his long dark cloak flowing out behind him.

“It’s special” he says, “for the scotch and elves, and the wishes we toast, the garland in windows and Jimmy Stewarts ghost. The treasure of Gloria, the heavens of host. The storms of strife, looking, to find peace somewhere. The comfort of snow, for it hides what is dead, but promises living, in spring far ahead. The folklore of Dickens, whom I’ve never read, but G-D bless us everyone, well there it’s been said”.

The train is upon us, as Dante gently steps to one side, his hair not moving even with the mighty wind, that stirs around the rumble of the heavy dark cars whipping by. “That was beautiful, really it was Dante”, I say my words rising as I’m having to scream to compete with the moving sound of the train. Our little spot on South Detroit Street, seems centric with our seasonal philosophy. The muse and I for once are not arguing, not divided. It’s as if the spell of scotch and elves has brought us together. – 12-16-2016- דָּנִיֵּאל

51 thoughts on “Scotch & Elves (Yuma)

  1. I just got on and saw you had posted, so had to make me a nice cup of tea and pruse very slowly over your latest work. As usual I found it delightful, different and full of mystery. Fantastic piece Daniel. Dante sounds like a pill. 😉

    • Thank you for your wonderful comment. I’m honored to have been a part of the tea drinking ritual. My wife is a great tea drinker, says it helps balance her. Dante was a pill, very disgruntled kind of fella. 😉

  2. Once again you captured my imagination and took me to a cold winter’s night with you and your muse. Very descriptive Daniel, and was fun to read.

    • Thank you Baker, I must admit I have only had Scotch one time in my life, and I can’t remember if I was in favor of having more or not. 🙂 I believe Dante was very familiar with the drink however. 😉

  3. Dante and you always did great work divided, but now! “The muse and I for once are not arguing, not divided” You should bring him back, with magic Daniel. 😉 I loved this. Happy Holidays.

  4. Daniel, I thoroughly enjoyed reading this, your writing is beautiful as always. I especially liked the following excerpt,

    “It’s special” he says, “for the scotch and elves, and the wishes we toast, the garland in windows and Jimmy Stewarts ghost. The treasure of Gloria, the heavens of host. The storms of strife, looking, to find peace somewhere. The comfort of snow, for it hides what is dead, but promises living, in spring far ahead. The folklore of Dickens, whom I’ve never read, but G-D bless us everyone, well there it’s been said”.

    I found it to be magical and profound, flooding my mind with so many memories. Thank you. Take good care and enjoy the week ahead. ~ Mia

  5. A culmination of words, thoughts that inspire me to keep writing. You write in such a different way…a good way. Intense, magical and if I don’t have the chance too…I wish you and your family a very beautiful Christmas and an inspired 2017 Daniel. 💙🌲

    • Hi Jenny, you might or might not know it, but your words brought tears to me. The story you write on these blogs, inspires me, like no other, for it is real, and like the song attached to this piece, answers the question that love is indeed alive. The magic is in what I read in your writing. Shalom, Daniel (Madge) 😉

Leave a Reply

