Nails


“The light was what brought the wheat, it looked like little Mary Lou, I’m convinced of that, it’s what I saw, I know what I saw”!

RF (Nails) Swearingen

Wheat as carpet on the front range floor.

Nails walks along Horsetooth headed for the West, all around him vibrations coming from the wheat at rest. It could be there is a savior embedded in these sheaves, or maybe just a rattlesnake, reaching to strike where he can’t breathe. Sometimes when spring comes, and Nails walks his land, he hears the flicker of Henry David, say, “It’s not what you look at that matters, it’s what you see“. Well yes in fact, Nails see’s frustration, sees a door that’s turning black. His crops and soul are in dispensation, with the L_rd in favor does he lack. It could be no one will come down.

Wheat as carpet on the front range floor.

The child is up ahead, the little girl, “Mary Lou” is deceased, it matters not on a sun-drenched day. Hell, has no fury, like a dead child at play. Still she blocks him anyway, too young to say Daddy, though her lips move that way. Nails spins around, and he turns once more, matters not his vision is interred with loss. For what he has seen is a sign from his self, the raising of the spirit, it comes from one’s own hell. Suddenly Nails believes, that just like Henry David, it’s what he can see. If the dead can rise so can his wheat. Nails takes his shoulders to his knees, he thinks just like David, he’ll build an altar to what’s his need. And if there is grace, and truth, justified, for in the mind of Nails, in his soul’s own eye. Life in the ground will be.

Wheat as carpet on the front range floor.

1942, and the worlds at war, Nails walks Horsetooth road, and looks at the floor. The ground of Colorado waves in oceans believed. Under sunny skies an altar of a good omen received. And a little girl is giggling, a tinkle to the ear, the light is resting easy, upon the fields of gold, and Nails might be seeing, something Henry David foretold.

RF (Nails) Swearingen was my grandfather, he always saw what he saw! – 11.12-2016-
דָּנִיֵּאל

34 thoughts on “Nails

  1. Nails would be so proud of his grandson. I’m watching a program on the Discovery Channel of people living off the grid, one family who chose the Nevada desert. Your words …’life in the ground will be’fits. I love the photo too..

  2. Had to return and reread.
    I was raised in the prairie on a carpet of wheat, so this is quite special to me.
    This piece is green and gold and the future and the past and makes me feel good.
    Of all your titles, this one threw me…. in a very good way.
    Hats off to nails, and hats off to you!

  3. Daniel, magical as ever. Your writing is so compelling, it leaves me wondering how much is storytelling and how much is the telling of history. I have decided that your life is full of a beautiful history that you share in verse. As for Nails, no doubt, “he always saw what he saw!” Please enjoy the rest of your Wednesday Daniel. ~ Mia

    • Thank you Mia, I really appreciate your kind words. My life is blessed with so many rich characters, my grandparents were beautiful people of the land. My Pappy never would tell why he was nicknamed “Nails”. I always saw him as “tough as” 😉 Thanks once again for your comment. It’s an honor I cherish. Daniel

Leave a Reply

