Heart (A Song for You)


It seems forever since I wrote you a rhyme, I know you’ve never asked me too but still I think it’s time, to let you know forever’s not moved beyond a promise, to let you feel the rhythm in my heart that’s just for you.

I want to be so careful with the words I have to say. Nothings more insincere than to play the part of play, the man who writes these fortunes, holds his world for you, it’s folded all together like a heart “A song for you”.

I heard that Augustus said to Livia just before he died, “Have I played the part well? Then applaud as I would die”. It seems such a misfortune, that Caesar would think so, that parts of love are just a play, an actor going solo. But oh my love just this stage, this life that we now live, a boy a man, I love to say, this is what I give. For you are all the darkness, the light when I see, you have been the map of seasons that charts the waves of seas. And I would not be Caesar, and say words of play, just before I died in treasure, having ruled the day. The man who writes these fortunes, holds his world for you, it’s folded all together like a heart “A song for you”.

I’ve spoken of some history, now I’ll speak of present day, may be look into the future if you think that would be okay. For now, this glass we look through, stares surely into high stars, charts the course of builders, to sail and fly so far. I feel my heart is ready, better than it’s ever been, to live the kind of promise, just like I said I would back when. To let you know I’m able, my promise ever real, this present or the future, to live what’s been fulfilled. And as I stand upon life’s stage my heart coming still, I’ll look into the face of love, and know these words are real. The man who writes these fortunes, holds his world for you, it’s folded all together like a heart “A song for you”.

For my wife Susan on Valentine’s Day, I love you. – 02.14.2016 – דָּנִיֵּאל 



Leave a Reply

