Louie and I (1978)


“A wise man fights to win, but he is twice a fool who has no plan for possible defeat”. – Louis L’Amour

“It’s okay to call me Louie”,

Louie said, “if I was you, I would not choose the Strater, with its feather pillows, and it’s golden chrome, it’s not the best place to eat, too noisy to enjoy the room, and you just can’t talk to the moon there”.   “You know young buck you need a ground, a high place where there’s room, to read a western novel, like a book I’ve spun on a loom. Indeed, you’re just a young man with a back that can take the ground, there’s plenty of altitude with coldness, and starlight, without much sound”. “If you buy “To the Far Blue Mountains” a read that will take you there, there’s a hill just south of Fort Lewis, you can go, and find what makes a writer there”. I looked hard at old Louie, then lowered my eyes, my face in flame, for its true he was just a cowboy, but in his soul was something that built the western plains.

We stood awhile then in Maria’s, a different bookstore back then a different name. Me with pimples and a dream of glory, he a writer, who had dealt with all his pain. He said, “well now, I’m a man whose been defeated, known the bottle, known what it is to feel real shame, still now that is part of the best story, when you know it, and bring it to a higher place”. Well the truth of the matter was it was Louie, the actor who had built a western stage, the glory of all my childhood heroes, the painter of all the mountain sage. All of my past a six-gun hallelujah, a bloody fight, to pioneer a just and fallen rage. While young boys were lost without their heroes, Louie wrote mine in sunsets on a stage.

Such a short time we talked inside that bookstore, such a brief encounter while the desert bloomed, knowing something inside of me was growing, listening to the man who’d written “The Man Called Noon“. All my life I think I might meet people, those who walk and write, all talented in what they do, still I wonder have they ever talked to the moon and have they ever been defeated, and if so, what did they do? What did they do?

“It’s okay to call me Louie”,

I met “Louis l’Amour” in a small book store in Durango, Colorado in April of 1978. What a man he was. – 11.03.2015 – דָּנִיֵּאל

4 thoughts on “Louie and I (1978)

  1. Love this story Daniel! Everyone should meet a hero when they are young. Everyone should have special memories. Experience and memories… I suppose that is much of who and what we are.
    Thanks for being you!

Leave a Reply

