Two שני Lights


And they are lights in darkness, maybe one, well then there’s two, some would call them children, it seems they are the light that leads me to you.

In the evening, here in the small light, may be it is one light maybe it is two. I as the old man recognize beginnings, celebrate endings, I don’t feel so brave tonight. It could be I am, called into a war, my heart a mix of gelatin and rock iron ore, and still it seems this life has gone by too fast, every little breath has passed me, it seems not to last. I walked over, asked a question of a soldier, do you have to be brave, to carry a gun? Can’t you be just as brave to raise a son, and do you place your spirit in a world, to let it die out, to watch it whirl? Are you stronger to kill and fight, to volunteer for others, when questions fill your night.

All I know is one light, two lights, or more, are less lights, then my conscious would allow me to ignore. And I know there are captains, warriors who would fight, it seems to me an industry, like there are missionaries on a foreign site teaching all of knowledge, the blessings of false spoils. Yet I will not know I will not surmise, I will not take one light, two lights in the night, I will take forever, where G_D lets me fly, I will take all of the lights, before I die.

In the morning, just before the dawn, as I an old man, reached a river run, and in the counting of lost souls, the ones that count by one, came a single light or two, their bravery past done. And what have you done my friend, you’ve fought a war never done, you preached a world of saviors, and still no souls won. While many harmless people, walking day by day, raise their simple banners, instill a good word in their children, they whisper and they say. Go and seek a goodness, seek all light that fills, never look for one light, it never will fulfill. But oh my son of better days, my daughter that climbs each hill, seek to know all of light, for partial light it kills. One light or two lights, are the beginning and end, but there is so much, so very much, that fills from end to end.

All I know is one light, two lights, or more, are less lights, then my conscious would allow me to ignore. And I know there are captains, warriors who would fight, it seems to me an industry, like there are missionaries on a foreign site teaching all of knowledge, the blessings of false spoils. Yet I will not know I will not surmise, I will not take one light, two lights in the night, I will take forever, where G_D lets me fly, I will take all of the lights, before I die.

And they are lights in darkness, maybe one, well then there’s two, some would call them children, it seems they are the light that leads me to you.

For my two lights. – 09.05.2015 – דָּנִיֵּאל

4 thoughts on “Two שני Lights

  1. This is very beautiful, Daniel. How can we, as parents of any number of lights, bear to see the lights of any others extinguished? Trying to raise children to see the light in all others, in the face of a world that would deny this, is a soldier’s task. We, the army, the enemy those who would perpetuate the myth that one light is less worthy than another. A lovely piece of music, too, Daniel. I think I’d like to swim in light.

    • Thank you my friend. Anne Marie you have left me with several great feedback’s and words today. I plan on going through each one, and responding. I feel so fortunate because the thoughts you have put into each response, holds not only your intellect but your true heart. Thank you. I agree our children are our lights, and they carry our spirits on. Me wife and I were just discussing this yesterday, and your words above echo our conversation. Thanks again. Shalom, Daniel

Leave a Reply

