Mr. Carter (1989)


It goes a little bit like this, a little bit like that, you take a perfect flower, and you treat it for what it lacks. Son there’s always plants, you never dreamed that they would grow, but over there on Garden Street I’ve planted and I’ve sowed. My life with Mrs. Carter is the sum of all that’s green, a placement in a flower box that blooms like its still spring. For every little tear I’ve cried in life, there’s been a plant, a garden, and my woman to keep my soul intact. You think that life is lonely try not having leaves in spring, the pedals of a rose just like a woman’s inner tender wings. So much I’d like to tell you before you hit the road, and travel to your high country where different flowers grow. I’ll stick to just this story, this little piece of luck I’ve touched, inside the secret to long life and the reasons that there’s love. It’s the honesty of G_Ds green earth teaching me what’s up above. Teaching me what’s up above.

I believe my dear Daniel the year was 1956, when hurricane Flossy came and made our home a pile of sticks. We lived in our garden in a shelter made like a tent, and Mrs. Carter my dear sweet woman, the heat it made her sick. I prayed to find an answer, there were no Doctors to be had, no one to help this black man, and my wife so near her death. I went into the garden a patch of drowned earth, and kneeled upon a tattered plant, to beg for what I’m worth. There my boy I smelled life so strong, minty and all green, the smell of peppermint, my boy, it seemed like it was spring. It seemed just like an answer to all that was bad, the mix of leave and water to bring my missus back.

It goes a little bit like this, a little bit like that, you take a perfect flower, and you treat it for what it lacks. You know a kingdom can’t survive if it is built on pure stone, neither can your heart know things of love you’ve never known. I tell you sir as you drive off from this southern shore, take a lesson from these plants their gifts and their lore’s. Take my voice my story, of plants and flowers so green, and build your life in far off lands, and love a girl like spring. When the day does arrive when heat fells your soul, look for peppermint to make a tea, its worth much more than told. Some day when you’re thinking, of all that I’ve said look at plants around you, and know that you’re blessed. Know that you’re blessed.

It goes a little bit like this, a little bit like that, you take a perfect flower, and you treat it for what it lacks. It’s the honesty of G_Ds green earth teaching me what’s up above. Teaching me what’s up above. – 05.28.2015 – דָּנִיֵּאל

6 thoughts on “Mr. Carter (1989)

Leave a Reply

