American Rubber (Anybody There) – 1983


She wants to go, ride, and ride hard, with me along this white sandy sheet. Shakespeare’s crashed, and all my dramas bled into a sleeve, and washed into latex swirling in that gulf so deep. We can listen to Blackmore, and party in a ‘Stone Cold” sea, go to kiss so wet along this silent beach. American rubber, and a Moosehead cold, lights in the wilderness, allow us to become so bold. And while I swim in pleasure, and lose my heart, perhaps I want an answer on why did we start. Anybody there to guide me, a man perhaps to tell me, in soft skin she climbs up on me, and my eyes won’t close, no they won’t close.

Twenty-two, I’m crazy, looking at the hazy sky, so low, wishing I was alone, just alone to wonder why. Questions in the dark along a darkened sea, rolling in the tide, just like her body grabs me. Anybody there to guide me, feeling my self-release in her below, American rubber you come and hold my soul, my fallen soul. Tasting her neck, I hear the sea roll, I turn my eyes see the horizon glow, her skin flavored salt dripping from the water I suppose, just another element I know.

I thought this so easy, this ride, slipping in, another Moosehead, and she wants us to try again. England Dan and Mr. John Ford Coley pull all the “Falling Stars” in a hurry, for twice in a row, her face seems so blurry. Can anybody tell me, her breast closing in, is this just by instinct, or is love a sin. American rubber, two for a note, my love for a dollar, her tongue near my throat. For far up above us a spirit looks down, swirling in wonder, at what it has found, a boy and his questions of now fallen youth, descended from passion, his heart now forsook. Anybody there to guide me, a man perhaps to tell me, in soft skin she climbs up on me, and my eyes won’t close, no they won’t close. – 5.25.2015 – דָּנִיֵּאל

 

“My head is saying, “No”
But my heart keeps giving in
So hard to let it go
When it’s there under my skin
Well, if this is the face of a sinner
And if heaven is only for winners
Well, I don’t care
‘Cause I won’t know anybody there
Thought that I’d let it slide
But it’s me that’s slipping in
Thought that I’d go for a ride
Before this crash I’m dying in
Well, if I’m judged on the life I’ve been living
And if heaven is not so forgiving
Well, I don’t care
‘Cause I won’t know anybody there
I don’t care
‘Cause I won’t know anybody there
My head is saying, “No”
But my heart keeps giving in
So hard to let it go
When it’s there under my skin
Well, if I’m judged on the life I’ve been living
And if heaven is not so forgiving
Well, I don’t care
‘Cause I won’t know anybody there
I don’t care
‘Cause I won’t know anybody there
I don’t care,
‘Cause I won’t know anybody there
Is there anybody there?
Is there anybody there?
Is there anybody there?”
Songwriters
O’DONOGHUE, DANIEL JOHN / SHEEHAN, MARK ANTHONY
Published by
Lyrics © Universal Music Publishing Group


Leave a Reply

