First Poem to Life (Twenty-Two)


Testing the years that go by, taking each sliver of light in your eye, and forming a jigsaw, balance and scale, tipping my hat to the night we do well. For twenty-two shamans each year they do spell, in sixes and numbers, love magic bevels. For what is not chosen, that destiny rides, our energies woven in delicate strides, and from that first poem to twenty-two, I drop air like kisses, I fell them on you. For we are awakened forward on time, our minds built on features, that only G-D binds, and oh dear my woman, that changed all my life, these twenty-two years from first poem to life.

Harvest take planting, we played in the dirt, spoken to large demons, and strayed into hurt, but all of our fortunes came down to a rhyme, a simple reunion where angels do cry. They cry out for justice to know what we have, for twenty-two reasons, and maybe by half. To know what’s inside us, for all that we are. A man and a woman drawn out in stars, taken by spirits scribed by our scars, oh what of the reasons, that sirens to play, with letters our fortune each word on our days. These lines on my forehead each drawn delicately, tell a sweet fortune, of us two retrieved. Brought forward chosen in winds backwards blown, given our energies light love spawn known, these twenty-two reasons, these twenty-two years from first poem to season, sprung from our tears.

A girl of the ember, I dreamed on a flame, green eyed, in a calling, when heaven, hell came, and joined quiet a union, unknown from before. Came into being what came from before, and we are in beauty, a marriage of two, for twenty-two years now, I have been you, and oh my sweet woman, look what you’ve done, married a mad man, who sings in the sun, and poems like the first one, I write for you dear, these twenty-two lifetimes incredibly clear. Oh open ghost heavens my heart to the sky, that first poem to your heart, the one that made life. For we are awakened forward on time, our minds built on features, that only G-D binds, and oh dear my woman, that changed all my life, these twenty-two years from first poem to life.

For me wife celebrating twenty-two years on 03.06.2015 – דָּנִיֵּאל

12 thoughts on “First Poem to Life (Twenty-Two)

  1. Beautiful, Daniel. Congratulations to both of you, and I want to read the poems up to 33 and 44. Longer if I endure! “lol”
    The photo at the top is absolutely fabulous! 🙂

  2. A warm hug to your Sweet, Daniel. I am her Brother, too, and I know what a gutsy lady it takes to choose “a mad man, who sings in the sun”; and under the Moon; and at all sorts of occasionally inappropriate times and places… 😦 🙂 Keep taking good care of her, and thank you for humming such beautiful verses and helping us all endure, me and Plutonia (twenty one years together this November), beloved Vicki who has instilled so much faith herself in us despite her own struggles, Resa, Jenny, all blessed souls who follow you and most of whom receive their sustenance silently here, much-needed resurrection amid our own dusks.
    Love and Blessings, my Brother.
    Leon

    • What a beautiful post and tribute Leon. I will share it with my missus and treasure it. I need to catch up with Vicki soon as I’m afraid I’m terribly behind with my correspondence. Such dear people everyone. You Leon are my strength. Thank you. Shalom, Daniel

Leave a Reply

