Beautiful oh Beautiful (Leary’s Psalm)


Timothy Leary saw lightning in the desert, he said beautiful, oh, beautiful. Testing hallucinogenic, thought by drug a master, Neurologic telepathy, Exo-Psychology. Was his life disaster, or did he find the answer, when the sun goes down in his Mexicana town, he said, no authority, question all wisdom formally, do it dutiful, be equivocal. What now you telegenic prophet have you heard from, Richard Nixon, you are dangerous, your thought outrageous. From the thought, of cell you have risen altered vision, synesthesia, spoken pharmacopoeia, tell your children as you leave them you have seen their spirits moving when their dead.

Still you say….

Hollywood in color brings Winona, as your god daughter, he said beautiful, oh, beautiful. Respond in kind you’ll see people treat you as they see. Act so natural, not artificial. Yet we wonder reason, did you live for just a season, did you structure your rebellious thought, were you a tyrant or savant. Flashbacks in your mind, Psychedelic Prayers online. Did you think that life extension comes from biological convention, when the chemical intervenes, falls through neurons and screams, and you hear your voice outside you say, beautiful, oh beautiful.

Still some beyond you say….

May be superstition far away from mind or reason, may be addiction, could you think of it that way. Could be natural creation comes and takes hallucination, could be G-D or Autism could be anything, of being that blows you away. Say there Mr. Leary who took a synthetic to reach beyond the stars and still what did you say. “Hearing, breathing sucking, light dark and laughing, what is come is in the past, beyond my mind”. What about a star that falls from the sky, do you not know that cannot replace your mind, and he says….

Beautiful, oh beautiful!

I first became interested in the writings of Timothy Leary after spending some time, with one of his students who had mastered Leary’s Personality Indicator, a combination of the Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory (MMPI), the Myer’s Briggs, and a whole lot of LSD in the Mexican desert. I found that once I got beyond the psychobabble, the addiction, the beatnik, there was a mind, which was multifaceted in its brilliance, and uncanny resolve to find the light. I hope Leary did, for in many ways he was Beautiful, oh beautiful. I have taken some liberty with a couple of Leary’s poems above “Hearing, breathing sucking, light dark and laughing, what is come is in the past, beyond my mind” I would encourage you to read them for yourself here. I think you will agree they are brilliant! – 10.28.2014 – דָּנִיֵּאל

8 thoughts on “Beautiful oh Beautiful (Leary’s Psalm)

  1. Daniel — thank you for recommending Leary’s poems. I look forward to reading them as, coincidentally, I’ve been reading Ram Dass (aka Richard Alpert, who was fired from Harvard with Leary). It’s all One!
    shavua tov, jen

      • What was it Einstein said? “Coincidences are G-d’s way of remaining anonymous,” or something like that…
        I’ve been reading and re-reading parts of “Be Here Now” by Ram Dass for the last few weeks. The beginning parts are the story of his journey from Harvard to India, and then there are illustrations and text that explain the journey of awakening. I think you’ll really appreciate the illustrated text!! I don’t know about where you are, but I’ve not found many Jews who have knowledge about or comfort with the more mystical aspects of my journey, and Dass put words and pictures to some overwhelmingly awesome experiences that I had been unable to share with others. Perhaps he will speak to you as well. jen

      • Hi Jen, thanks for sharing, it gives me a wonderful context about where your at, and as I suspected, it is a good place to be. I should let you know, I am a beginner, my context is that of a convert for that I am, and my road came through Qabbālâ. I have much to learn and far to go. I admire your travel into the mystic, for I know there is more structure and AWE there than any critic would comprehend. I salute your journey, and look forward to having it shared, for there I will learn as well. Thank you. Daniel

  2. I remember holding Be Here Now, given to me by a friend, while sitting at my first lecture at York University, Toronto, Ontario, 1971. I knew it was special, and thanks to Kabbalah, I now know why. The joyous journey into the mystic was what drew me. Beautiful acknowledgement of Timothy Leary, so that we know that ‘Timothy Leary is not dead…He’s on the outside, looking in”.

    • Leary’s story touches me, because I just know he was full of light, and people who are full of light are not of this world, therefore they are misunderstood. Thank you for sharing your memoir about “Be Here Now”! Good stuff!

Leave a Reply

