The Rest


His breath so well mixed in with dew, a frosty hail as last breaths due, and from that ship that sailed on by, it took my friend for then he died. It seems so strange, I walked outside, a rainy day, two boys at play, their hair so wet, they looked to me, like boys us two, what did I see. I went to wave, and hold back time, you smiled and faded, like ghost from rhyme. Forgive this way, lost paradigm, when parts unknown have come to dine, they stagger in upon quiet grief, a bond is gone from life received, and I won’t sleep while in death’s chill, for I’m left running in silence still, and oh my friend, look what you’ve done, you found the rest, while still I run.

When we were young, we wrote a book, rebuked the world while demons shook. We built a house named before death, starved all our fears of all they had, and then we called down all the skies made youth our days, we would not die, but oh my friend, look what you’ve done, you found the rest, while still I run. What ship you sail, I cannot see, it holds my hope, a treaty free, of when you stand before one mast you anchor me in all we had.

When we were young, we broke young skin, mixed dark matter, as next of kin, and by and by the rules of war, we fought our battles and settled scores. We lodged ourselves between tight sea’s became the masters of all belief, by all our books, beneath starlight, great sorcery became our light, but oh my friend, look what you’ve done, you found the rest, while still I run.

So now no trace of your skin glows, you’ve found a trail where starships go, it does not beckon like Tom Swift did to take adventure, you do not live. Your spirit hastened to leave this shore, without your breath for higher storms. May be a boy, a boy I see, his wet hair waving, goodbye to me, but oh my friend, look what you’ve done, you found the rest, while still I run.

For my childhood best friend Jason Stuart Waite who finally found The Secret Panel on Wednesday October 08,2014.  May he rest while still I run! – 10.10.2014 – דָּנִיֵּאל

7 thoughts on “The Rest

  1. I’m so sorry for your loss, Daniel. He will expect you still to run and explore, reveal the Secret Panel to a world needing to remember childhood days and innocence. May he rest in peace as you still discover the mysteries he now knows.x

  2. A lovely and touching tribute, Daniel. It sounds like Jason will be missed. My condolences, and wishes for sunny skies for you to continue running under. _Resa

Leave a Reply

