The Raising of Lillian Gish (A Dream)

And in the end it’s just a dream,

and what’s remembered what’s gleaned,

and what before of silent past,

and what message did Lillian pass?

Lillian Gish loved me, and I know it’s true. I saw her black and blue, you see, in Broken Blossoms begging for truth. She was not intolerant of what I couldn’t do, reach back through the threads of time and make her cinematic life seem fine. Silent movie gasp of quiet, the space between pen and time, she stares in cinema, film she cries, and oh my soul does, rewind, and I lose my planned eternity, for all the silent pictures confined. Oh her pretty eyes that seep, a weepy filled mystery, I cannot find, reality in film, without spoken words and finality, but still I see and watch her move, across the silver screen she leaps, my mortal life drains from me, a little teardrop slowly falls, incandescently, lost beyond physical reality.

And in the end it’s just a dream,

and what’s remembered what’s gleaned,

and what before of silent past,

and what message did Lillian pass?

In a silent studio, where a spirits bred, from a lost frame your face in dread, my heart felt breathless when you looked so sad, you looked so sad. Now say little, say little, actress Lilly Gish, If I could travel and move to your myth, would you now, would you, act for me in mime, and pleasure with desire and mystery. Suppose now, could you, would you, trace my heart and touch my reels spinning with your ghostly spark.

And in the end it’s just a dream,

and what’s remembered what’s gleaned,

and what before of silent past,

and what message did Lillian pass?

What now happens from title cards, a worn girl looking from a staged lost art, and did she say a word or two about a story that she knew. Now may be Lillian didn’t love me at all, as I watched her in silence call, it could be breath but I’m not sure, for there was no color in what she served. Well may be she said on down to this day, hey modern day actor you’re not in a play. Could be something to saying a sound, and not being silent when the curtain goes down, hey life’s not attention on the silver screen or black and white goodies like it sometimes seems. We all lose something when the projection stops, and the frames stop moving, and the movie flops. It could be may be some reality would serve itself up better, if I didn’t receive, some ragged virtue from a silent past, from a ghostly girl in a white broad brimmed hat.

And in the end it’s just a dream,

and what’s remembered what’s gleaned,

and what before of silent past,

and what message did Lillian pass? – 10.02.2014 – דָּנִיֵּאל

2 thoughts on “The Raising of Lillian Gish (A Dream)

  1. Thanks Resa! I am envious of you getting to me Faye Wray, what a wonderful experience! I enjoy the early years of movies, the style alone is incredible. I was fortunate to know many years ago an author who pioneered two great books on the silents before he passed away in early 2000. http://www.amazon.com/Silent-Films-1877-1996-Critical-Movies/dp/0786421649/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1412625774&sr=1-1&keywords=Robert+Klepper His friendship and knowledge made me a fan. I still have some rare film copy on video that he gave me, and I suppose one of these days I should find out how rare it indeed is, and share it if it is missing from the world at general. Thanks for passing on your memory of getting to meet Ms. Wray, and the IMDB link to Lillian’s page. 🙂

Leave a Reply

