Grammy (Reverie)


I called down a dream of Grammy, she arrived on a Sabbath day, I turn and she’s gone, now what’s told, stays long, and sealed in what she did say!

Your dress it is colors, a book of old stories, a vision in time of my youth. Did you not summon my mind to question, what is not seen, what is true? Grammy it’s summer, though I see winter, how can I touch through the gloom. There are visions wanting to open, wanting to dance with my youth. Are they the presence of what really matters, please in your latitude pray? Has ever color come from what’s over, have ghost delivered a truth?  Has fluid filled the stalk of a stover, my Grammy please tell me what’s true.

“What have you seen boy, there in red clover does the wind blow trouble this day”?

I know not faith that moves worlds over, I know only what my Grammy does say.

Last night I saw you, Grammy you shook me, I awoke my heart shaking, and you were gone. Is there a meaning, to what you were bringing, does my world now have long? Grammy you died, your white hair was dropping, birds were falling that day. In death was candor, of what would come after, thoughts of that child, and words arrayed.

There you are moments, katydids talking, blessing my heart as it storms.

“Boy there are watchers, some roam in daylight, some are moving, way too soon, listen and follow, what is found simple, G_D will not leave you to be ruined.”

Grammy no secrets, life has now found me, ghost are calling me out to play. Chilled falling season, heat all around me, I turn to see what you will say!

“Kindness is simple, it seeks no favors, it has been named in seventy-two ways, summon me no more, it is not natural, go and breath what this night has conveyed”.

Her dress in colors, then it was over, I awoke to find strange shadows at play. A note of a whisper, from spirit’s gone over, a tone from what my Grammy did say.

I called down a dream of Grammy, she arrived on a Sabbath day, I turn and she’s gone, now what’s told, stays long, and sealed in what she did say! – 08.30.2014 – דָּנִיֵּאל

 


2 thoughts on “Grammy (Reverie)

  1. Grandmas’ ways seem to succeed in cutting to the chase in matters of wisdom, simplicity being key. No matter how complex our world appears to become those simple truths always hold good. This is lovely, Daniel, particularly as a testament of faith in your gran’s wisdom. Now she rests in peace and you still have all that. In abundance.

  2. Thank you Anne Marie. She was a woman who lived and worked hard with my grandfather. They worked and loved side by side. She was an amazing woman! Her only palace and material riches were in her heart and mind. 🙂 Thanks again for your assuring words my friend!

Leave a Reply

