Part II [It’s What We Do]


At one hundred one plus ten more strong, Alexander Imich, received a song, weighted in sapphire weighted in strife, he wore tefillin, he wore life, it’s what we do. Scars like lightning, sunset on skin, Sharon Debunek, abused within, she thought about cutting a little bit more, but laws of her body, made her want more, so she smiles, and writes, it’s what we do. Alchemic waters, interest in law, balance of matter, destiny calls. Code on my forehead, blood in my skin, if there’s a reason, instinct within, logic in wanting, my love begins, it’s what we do.

In motion held sightless, hands above light, Alicia Alonso, spun in beauty into the night, she danced above promise, she twirled into flight, intuition of sight, it’s what we do. He rhymes in his madness, his mind split by a bullet wound, and when the right song plays, Lex Cordova, dances naked under his favorite moon. He researches heaven, and believes in seconds of life extended when he prays, it’s what we do. Simple beginning, to likely end, equal love for indignity of sin, a faith for every curtain of horror that’s been ripped from your soul. A search is over, a spark spoken, my love begins, it’s what we do.

Mathematical wings, by savant thunder, gaged and judged before nine, in keys of major majesty, Derek Paravicini takes the musical dais, and reaches a deeper place inside, it’s what we do. Deluded in richness guilt ridden by the touch of her father’s skin, Jenna Payne, rides between the cross and bulimic wrath, and in a sudden inspiration she sees a rock to climb. She ascends to touch the magic, the balance of grace and land, she rises to gaze the wonder, her body takes a stand, it’s what we do. For a lifetime the answer surrounds us, it reaches to touch us, to become us, to play us, to be what we do. My love begins, it’s what we do.

 

I wondered how it would end, the question first posed, “What do we do? I didn’t really lose any sleep over it, but being somewhat neurotic, and a little obsessive, I knew this week could not end without posting an answer. I read a story today on Chabad.org how 111 year old Alexander Imich was visited by a young Rabbi and he wore tefillin for the first time since his b’nai mitzvah in Poland over 100 years ago. Alexander like so many of the subjects in my short piece above, held the answer to my question first posed in “What do we do”. It is instinctual to live, to begin, to breathe, and to live according to a better law, it is logical to love, not want to love, but to love, and with that my love begins, it’s what I do. – דָּנִיֵּאל – 05.06.2014

 


3 thoughts on “Part II [It’s What We Do]

  1. Your writings are always deeply moving and soul-soothing to me, Daniel.
    I devoted this last hour to educate myself a bit about these people you are mentioning here, and to try to express my gratitude. I learn and feel so much thanks to you. The occult coupled with the obvious, the esoteric with the straightforward, the mind working with and for the heart; this is what I gratefully find with you, and I humbly thank you for guarding (φυλάσσειν, hence “phylacteries”) my soul with your thoughts and prayers. Although the earthquakes never stop here in Greece for people like us, I do STAND and support Plutonia with all my might thanks also to you. She thought my feminist version of the creation story in my Ode might be annoyingly irreverent for you, but I told her you know my heart is for, not against. I sincerely hope, though, I will never sever our connection with my revolt against unbending dogma. It is not easy for me to stay balanced in this world, and our connection helps me more than you know.
    Much love and many blessings to you Daniel, my brother.
    Leon

  2. Hi Leon, Thank you for your wonderful words above. It’s encouraging and simply invigorating to know you have another around this really small globe who is in tune with what you do. I have not read the feminist creation story, (somehow it must have rolled down my wall and I missed it) but will remedy that over-site today. Never fear, situations call for a revolt now and then, I have done a bit of that myself from time to time, not too much orthodoxy here. 😉 I wish Plutonia and yourself healing and long graceful days my brother, and I look forward to reading your work on creation later today. – Shalom, Daniel

    • Oh, thank you so much Daniel! Do not expect any treatise on creation, though; this point is only a small heretical belief of mine (heresy, αίρεση, means “choice” in Ancient Greek, “an expression of free will”), and a truly loving one at that. Please know that I am not needy at all for Likes or web traffic, so by all means do not feel obliged to Like or comment. A few honest friendships is what I am gratefully here for, and my heart was honestly shaking with the fear that I had given a slap to your belief system. Too fragile for a warrior, I know, but I’m a peaceful warrior, not a slayer, and I could never be disrespectful to anyone, let alone to my dearest friends. I never had any true friends in real life, besides this one unbelievably heroic person by my side who is also my beloved wife. I do not think we will reach Alexander Imich’s years (blessed be that wonderful Aquarian parapsychologist) just because we share his childlessness secret of longevity, and it is such a shame really, because we are ALL actually made to be having the lifespan of מְתֿוּשָלַח (Methuselah). Enjoy this compressed conference of Gregg Braden’s whenever you find the time, to see among many other wonderful things, why “the first hundred years are the hardest”. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VyCiL8ql7bs
      Thank you so much, my intelligently selectively orthodox brother. It is no accident that we have met. Shalom, Leon

Leave a Reply

